Looking for data journalists – European Week of Regions and Cities

EU Cohesion Policy open dataThe European Week of Regions and Cities will again bring together some 6000 regional representatives and experts in Brussels from 6-9 October.

We’ll be hosting a couple of hundred journalists from across the EU at the event, which includes a specially designed media programme. Given the strong focus on the use of statistics to report about European regions and EU Cohesion Policy, we will be extending a special invitation this year to a limited number of data journalists.

Highlights of the event for data journalists include sessions on:

Are you a data journalist? Would you be interested to attend the European Week of Regions and Cities and to report about EU regions and EU Cohesion Policy using the extensive data that we will be making available? If so, please use the comment box below to tell me a bit about your work and how we can contact you.

10 Comments

Filed under EU

10 responses to “Looking for data journalists – European Week of Regions and Cities

  1. Clara Attene

    Hi Tony, I’m an italian journalist and I’m working now as a data journalist in addition to write about business and foreing issues. I read your post and I’m interested to know more about this chance to come to Brussels.
    On my Linkedin profile you can find more info about what I’m doing and contact me.
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    Clara

    • Thanks for your interest, Clara. We already have several Italian journalists attending, so we’re seeing whether we can fit you in. Will try to get you some news asap.

  2. Hi Tony,
    I’m Daniele Palumbo and I’m an Italian data journalist who just completed the MA in Interactive Journalist at City University London. I already had several experiences in data journalism and in analyzing/visualizing data about EU and Europe.
    At this link https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=166713381&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile you can find all my cv and work experiences.
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    Daniele

  3. Hi,

    I work as a reporter for a regional newspaper in the northernmost part of Sweden, and I’ve been a part of a large swedish data journalism project for more than a year, attended two NICAR conferences as well as other meetings, and would be interested in learning more about the opportunities to use data journalism in relation to the EU. I would like to hear more about this.

  4. Hello Tony,
    I’m certainly interested to attend The European Week of Regions and Cities. I’m a (data-)journalist for the Dutch business magazine ‘De Zaak’ (http://www.dezaak.nl/tijdschrift), which has readers in Belgium too. De Zaak is just one of the publishing activities of the Dutch Network Group (DNG), which also publishes books about doing business in Europe (aimed at Dutch entrepreneurs). DNG plans to expand its activities in Europe, so this event could be a good start!
    Regards,
    Flip

  5. Dear Tony, thanks a lot for that offer. I’m sure it makes absolute sense to get together in Brussels examining those data and building new networks.

    I’m an online editor at Stuttgarter Zeitung in Southwest Germany doing (apart from other stuff) some smaller ddj-projects during and before current elections, on crime stats, the situation of regional hospitals or train punctuality. We’re upscaling this a little bit right now, and I hope that your data is a rich source of information and stories on whether our region is doing well compared to other parts of Europe.

    Getting in touch with Brussels data experts and other data journalists would be my main goal. Also I’m wondering whether the main activities in this regard are scheduled for Tuesday, 7th October? That would fit my scarce resources (and those of my employer) a lot better than being in Brussels the whole week.

    Please feel free to contact me via e-Mail!

    Best,
    Jan

Leave a Reply

