Fellowship programme at the University of Washington

University of Washington

William H.Gates Hall, University of Washington
Photo by Curtis Cronn, (c) Creative Commons

“I want us to ask ourselves every day, how are we using technology to make a real difference in people’s lives.” (US President Barack Obama)

In January 2013, I will be leaving for Seattle to spend six months as a European Union Fellow at the University of Washington.

I’ll be working closely with the Jackson School of International Studies and the Center for Communication & Civic Engagement.  I’m also hoping to connect with the people involved in the University’s prestigious Masters of Communication in Digital Media Program.

What will I be doing?

Apart from drinking coffee, listening to grunge music and trying to stay out of the rain … I will be spending my time in Seattle researching the interplay between digital media and policy-making in Europe and the USA.

I will be looking at ways in which online tools and social media are helping to engage people in policy-making, improve the delivery of public services and provide the basis for more interactive communication.

I’ll be sharing some of our experiences at EU, national and regional level.  I’ll also be trying to find out what we can learn from recent developments in the USA including, such as:

How can you get involved?

Do you have an interesting story to tell about how online tools and social media are helping to make better policies?  What are the most exciting things happening in Europe that I should be sharing with US audiences?  What examples of good practice in the USA can we learn from?  Who are some of the most interesting people (in Europe and the USA) I should be trying to connect with?

I would love to hear your comments and suggestions!

3 Comments

Filed under Digital media, EU, Fellowship Programme, USA

3 responses to “Fellowship programme at the University of Washington

  1. Tony, that’s fantastic! congrats!
    I’d love to be involved somehow.
    I think EU can learn a lot from the US about how to track public spending (you can see it from an open data or e-participation perspective). Comparing Recovery.gov with our EU portals (agriculture, regional policy…) is the first thing I can think of.
    Many EU good practices can be found at the national level, though. You already know OpenCoesione.gov.it. The next release will include social capabilities (commenting, voting, facebook integration) that will be added to the current form as tools to improve interaction, public control and crowd sourcing.

    Also, have a look at the CrossOver project, which is focused just on the use of ICT in policy making. http://www.crossover-project.eu The last workshop held in Brussels (http://www.w3.org/2012/06/pmod/) gathered many interesting people from all around the world (including New York and California). A second workshop is planned for fall 2012 to be held in Washington, DC.

    • Hi Luigi,
      Congrats to you too on being the first person to leave a comment on my blog! Actually, this is still work in progress and I won’t be launching the blog until the beginning of September. You are definitely on my list of people to interview, hopefully when you are in Brussels in October for the Open Days.
      All the best,
      Tony

  2. am I the first to sunscribe? from my nearly-no-connection summer place – you should appreciate the effort! Good luck and inspiration – don’t forget to share (no pressure, enjoy grunge music).

Leave a Reply

